Due to precautions related to COVID-19, we have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss whether a full phone consultation or video conference is appropriate for your situation.
Shumate Flaherty Eubanks & Baechtold logo

Carrying On A Century-Old Tradition Of Hard Work And Client Dedication

Photo of attorneys

For how long will you lose your license in a Kentucky DUI case?

On Behalf of | Aug 18, 2021 | Criminal Defense

Allegations of driving under the influence (DUI) in Kentucky can derail your life. You may have to go to court, which will make you lose work. If you plead guilty or the courts convict you, you could wind up facing a jail sentence in addition to paying fines because of a simple mistake.

You don’t have to cause a crash or damage anyone else’s property for a DUI charge to affect your freedom and your career. You can also expect to lose your driver’s license after a conviction for a DUI offense in Kentucky. How long will the licensing consequences of a drunk driving charge affect you?

Repeat offenders will lose their licenses for longer

When someone faces the same criminal charges multiple times, they will face harsher penalties for the subsequent offenses. That holds true for the loss of your license after a DUI charge just like it does for fines and incarceration penalties.

If this is your first impaired driving charge or the only DUI charge in the last 10 years, you will likely only lose your license for six months. However, a second offense within 10 years of the first means an 18-month license suspension. That penalty will double to 36 months after a third offense. Anyone accused of a fourth DUI within 10 years will lose their driver’s license for 60 months or a full five years.

Can you ever get your license back early?

Kentucky does offer some leniency to those with a DUI charge who still need to drive for their job or to take care of their family. Some people can participate in the ignition interlock device (IID) program after a DUI conviction.

By agreeing to install a chemical breath test device in your vehicle, you can shorten the length of the license suspension. However, you will have restricted driving privileges while participating in the IID program. You will need to perform a chemical breath test every time you drive and will only be able to legally operate a vehicle with an IID installed.

Familiarizing yourself with the consequences of a DUI conviction can help you decide how to respond to those pending charges.